Barcelona Crowned 2016 La Liga Champions, Suarez Sink Madrid Trophy Hope


    A hat-trick from Luis Suarez wrapped up the title, and the Pichichi for the striker, as Luis Enrique’s side pipped rivals Real Madrid to the crown for the second consecutive season.
    Barcelona have won La Liga following a 2-0 win at Granada, pipping rivals Real Madrid for the second consecutive season, to claim a 24th league crown.

    A hat-trick from Luis Suarez, his 38th, 39th and 40th league strikes of the season to win the Pichichi, saw Luis Enrique & Co. secure the three points needed despite Real winning 2-0 over Deportivo La Coruna.

    Barcelona have been top since a 2-1 away win at Malaga on January 23 but three consecutive losses during April, a drop in form last seen 13 years ago, allowed Real and Atletico the chance to close the gap.

    Atletico’s title tilt ended last weekend due to a 2-1 loss at Levante, with both Madrid sides now set to face off in the Champions League final, as they did two years ago, on May 28.


    Suarez becomes the first player other than Lionel Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo to finish as top scorer in La Liga since 2008–09, when Diego Forlan scored 32 for Atletico Madrid.

    Saturday marked the 10th time Barcelona went into the final La Liga matchday with the chance to win the title in their own hands having completed the job on all nine previous occasions, and did so again.

    The victory also marked the sixth occasion Barcelona won the Liga title on May 14, the last time coming in 2005.


    Leave a Reply